Arizona-based Kitchell Contractors names Steve Whitworth as new president

Originally appeared in The Arizona Republic.

Phoenix-based Kitchell Contractors has tapped Steve Whitworth to be president of the 67-year-old company.

He was promoted from vice president of Kitchell’s Texas division and takes over for Dan Pierce, who will retire after 36 years with the company.

“Over the past decade, he’s (Whitworth) demonstrated his commitment to his fellow employee owners by being a great mentor who hires strong talent, builds business and fosters growth and innovation,” said Kitchell CEO Jim Swanson.

Kitchell executive elected vice president of healthcare engineering association

The Central Arizona Society for Healthcare Engineering (CASHE) has elected Steve Whitworth, project director for Kitchell’s Healthcare Division, to the board as vice president. CASHE is a non-profit organization with a mission to develop knowledge and expertise in hospital engineering and related disciplines.

“It is a great honor to be elected to the CASHE board, to foster collaboration between our healthcare industry clients and peers. We all benefit from more advanced healthcare facilities in our community, both personally and professionally, and it’s rewarding to be able to make an impact on something so important,” Whitworth said.  

Previously Whitworth served as head of the Education Committee where he developed the education curriculum for 2009 and arranged for speakers at each monthly session. 

CASHE members come from a wide range of disciplines including facilities maintenance and operations; plant engineering; clinical and biomedical engineering; technology management; planning, design and construction; safety; and security management. Whitworth joins the CASHE board with newly elected president Nick Dalba, secretary Bill Sheeley, treasurer Chris Jacobson as well as three new members-at-large and several committee chairs. 

Other Kitchell CASHE members include Ryan Hook, Dave Lane, Dick Crowley (who is a former chair of the sponsorship committee), and Michael Wolfe.